Meet the Town Manager Candidate, Stacy Brown, at the Community Open House!Learn More

Vehicle Impound Information

Vehicle Impound Information

Vehicle Impound Information
Why was my vehicle impounded?

Some common reasons include:

  • A vehicle upon a street, highway or alley is so disabled as to constitute an obstruction to traffic.
  • A vehicle is left parked in the same place upon a street or alley continuously for a period of 72 hours.
  • A vehicle is left parked in the same place upon a State Highway continuously for a period of 24 hours.
  • The driver of the vehicle is taken into custody by the Police Department and the vehicle would be left unattended.
  • The driver of the vehicle is reasonably suspected of using license plates or a license permit unlawfully, misusing the license plates or license permit issued to the driver, or a vehicle is driven or parked upon a street, highway or alley without proper license plates or license permit, or driven or parked with an invalid or expired license permit.
  • Illegal parking.
  • Traffic accident where owner is transported to the hospital, leaving the vehicle unattended.
What do I need to do to get my Vehicle out of Impound?
You must first complete the Application for Vehicle Release, either for yourself or for another designee to be able to get your vehicle out of impound. You can find the Application for Vehicle Release in this section of the Website.
How much will it cost?
Current standard impound fee is $25.00. This fee is required by and paid to the Town of Kersey before a release can be authorized on all vehicles impounded by the Town of Kersey. This fee is an administrative fee incurred by the Town of Kersey. Fee may be waived in accordance with the Colorado Victims’ Rights Act. Additional fees and charges incurred by the Towing Company are separate and not regulated by the Town of Kersey and will have to be paid separately before you can obtain your vehicle.
What type of payment is accepted?

For normal business, Cash, Visa or MasterCard are accepted. Local business checks are accepted from a

local business with Colorado State ID.

What are the Town Hall hours of operation?
The Kersey Town Hall is open Monday through Friday, 8:00AM to 4:30PM, excluding Legal Holidays and weekends.
I was pulled over by the Weld County Sheriff's/Colorado State Patrol, do you have my vehicle?
No. If you were contacted and your vehicle was impounded by the Weld County Sheriff’s Office or the Colorado State Patrol, even if you were within the jurisdictional limits of the Town of Kersey, you need to contact the impounding agency for details on your vehicle.
What if I'm not a licensed driver?

You will need to bring a licensed driver with you to drive your vehicle out. The owner of vehicle must

still present current registration, insurance and valid identification. You must also bring a licensed driver

to drive the vehicle you arrived in.

Someone borrowed my car and got it impounded, am I responsible for fees?

Yes. You are responsible for your vehicle and all fees incurred by the actions of those with access to your

vehicle. If your vehicle was stolen, you need to immediately report the motor vehicle theft to the police at (970) 350-9600. You may be responsible for fees even if you have a valid motor vehicle theft case number if you waited to report your stolen vehicle.

I was told my vehicle was on Hold, what do I do?
If your vehicle is being held for evidence by the Kersey Police Department, you will need to contact the officer responsible for the hold. If your vehicle is being held for evidence by the District Attorney’s Office, you will either need to wait until the disposition of the case, or will need to contact the District Attorney’s Office to inquire about the status of your vehicle. If your vehicle is on hold, you cannot view, remove property, or claim your vehicle until the hold is released by all the holding agencies. The Impound Facility must receive all proper paperwork regarding property or vehicle releases directly from the holding agency. You may not necessarily be able to claim your vehicle immediately after a court decision since additional research must be completed before the release, and there may be additional holding agencies.
I feel my vehicle was towed illegally and/or I want to contest the fees. What can I do?
If you would like to dispute the legality of your tow or your fees, you have the right to a Post-Tow
hearing in Municipal Court. Bring your current registration or title and file a written request in person at
the Kersey Municipal Court, 332 3rd Street Kersey, CO 80644, within 10 days of the date you received notice that your vehicle was impounded. This does not apply to any vehicle towed for evidence pending further investigation. Failure to submit a timely request or to attend a scheduled hearing shall be deemed a waiver of the right to such a hearing.
What happens if I do not retrieve my vehicle?

Per CRS 10-25-106, if after 30 days no claim of ownership or right to possession has been made, the

vehicle may be sold at auction

What will I need to drive my vehicle out?
Owner must present ownership paperwork including:
  • Valid current vehicle registration
  • Valid current vehicle insurance
  • Valid current vehicle driver’s license
Owner’s agent/designee must present original ownership paperwork, as well as:
  • Power of Attorney or Notarized statement from the owner giving permission to remove the vehicle from the Impound Facility. (See Application for Vehicle Release)
  • Vehicles registered in a business name can be released with documentation that authorizes the individual claiming the vehicle (notarized statement on letterhead giving permission for individual to obtain vehicle OR current business listing with the Secretary of State).
What will I need to tow my vehicle out?
Owner must present ownership paperwork:
  • Valid current vehicle registration OR
  • Valid current title in owner’s name or properly signed over within the past 60 days
  • Secure and Verifiable ID (see Forms above)
Owner’s agent/designee must present original or notarized copies of ownership paperwork, as well as:
  • Power of Attorney or Notarized statement from the owner giving an agent permission to remove vehicle from the Impound facility. (See Application for Vehicle Release)
  • Vehicles in a business name can be released with documentation that authorizes the individual claiming the vehicle (statement on letterhead giving permission for individual to obtain vehicle).
Owner or agent must arrange for a PUC licensed tow company to tow the vehicle from the Impound facility.
What will I need to get a motorcycle out?
  • Owner or owner’s agent/designee must present same ownership paperwork as required to drive/tow a vehicle out.
  • In addition, to drive a motorcycle out, the owner or owner’s agent/designee must present a valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement.
  • A motorcycle may be pushed out of the gate and loaded on a trailer in the parking lot if the owner does not have a motorcycle endorsement, or if the motorcycle will not start but will roll.
  • If the motorcycle will not start or roll, it must be towed out.
What if I'm in another state and want someone else to get my vehicle out?
You may assign a designated agent to obtain your vehicle with a power of attorney or notarized statement (See Application for Vehicle Release) giving them permission to remove the vehicle from the Impound facility, or sign it over to a PUC licensed tow company. The individual you authorize must still present the original valid current registration and proof of valid insurance to drive the vehicle out. This is a state law.
My insurance company is taking the vehicle, what do I have to do?
You will either need to come to the Impound facility to sign your vehicle over to insurance, or you will need to fax us a notarized statement releasing your vehicle to your insurance company.
The owner is deceased, how can I get the vehicle out?
To Drive Vehicle Out:

Valid current vehicle registration
Valid current vehicle insurance
Valid current driver’s license
Original Death Certificate or Deferred Death Certification.
Estate Document (Will or Trust) stating named beneficiary/executor OR a notarized “COLLECTION OF PROPERTY BY AFFIDAVIT PURSUANT TO 15-12-1201, C.R.S.”
To Tow Vehicle Out:

Valid, current vehicle registration OR
Valid, current title in owner’s name or properly signed over within the past 60 days
Secure and Verifiable ID
Original Death Certificate or Deferred Death Certification.
Estate Document (Will or Trust) stating named beneficiary/executor OR a notarized
              “COLLECTION OF PROPERTY BY AFFIDAVIT PURSUANT TO 15-12-1201, C.R.S.”